InnerActive Playground — a HUGE indoor attraction for all ages

InnerActive Playground — an 18,000-square-foot indoor attraction for all ages near the I-494 and I-394 interchange.

Ted and Stacy Anderson of Golden Valley (parents to two boys), run the super-size indoor park.

It includes a large playground area for older children, a separate toddler area for ages 5 and younger, a giant jumping pillow, a full-size basketball court, a full-size turf field and large building blocks from Imagination Playground.

There’s a cafeteria with vending machines and private party room (two hours with an eight-kid minimum). Outside food is welcome. Bonus!

The Andersons are able to keep the facility open 365 days a year — similar to an outdoor playground — because of its self-service nature. 

“That means that we will not have staff on site at all times,” Stacy Anderson said. “Our guests purchase their play passes or memberships online, and then receive a five-digit code to enter the park.”

Photo Courtesy of Interactive Playground

 Parents like the facility because they can sit in the cafeteria and see all the play areas for all ages, Stacy Anderson said. 

A 2-year-old can be playing with building blocks while a 4-year-old can be on the bouncer while the 7-year-old is shooting hoops. 

And the tots area? It’s given new life to the play equipment from the former Play and Learn Cafe, Ted Anderson said.  

Photo Courtesy of Interactive Playground

InnerActive Playground
2240 Woodale Drive, Mounds View MN 55112
⊲ 7:30 a.m.– 7:30 p.m. daily (364 days a year)
⊲ Daily admission – check website for current fees (infants and adults can visit for free). Memberships are available to purchase.
⊲ Online at inneractiveplayground.com

INDOOR PLAY SPACES IN THE TWIN CITIES

Check out these places of all types and sizes when it’s time for the kids to burn off a little energy (and you can’t — or don’t want to — go outside)!

The Fun Lab, Blaine
Adventure Peak in Edinborough Park, Edina, edinboroughpark.com
AirMaxx, Eden Prairie, airmaxxtrampolinepark.com
Eagle’s Nest, New Brighton, tinyurl.com/nbeaglesnest
Good Times Park, Eagan, goodtimespark.com
InnerActive, Minnetonka, inneractiveplayground.com
Jump City, Otsego, jumpcitymn.com
Kids Oasis, Stillwater, stillwaterkidsoasis.com
Lookout Ridge, Woodbury, woodburylookoutridge.com
Maple Maze, Maple Grove, tinyurl.com/maplemaze
Playworks, Prior Lake, playworksfun.com
Plymouth Fieldhouse, plymouthmn.gov
Pump It Up, Twin Cities, pumpitupparty.com
Sky Zone, Maple Grove and Oakdale, skyzone.com
The Blast, Eagan, tinyurl.com/blastplayground
The Giggle Factory, Hudson, Wis., thegigglefactorykids.com
Tropical Adventure, Shoreview, shoreviewcommunitycenter.com
Turf Tots and Pavilion Play Place, Hopkins, hopkinsmn.com
Vertical Endeavors, Minneapolis, St. Paul and Duluth, verticalendeavors.com
Williston Treehouse, Minnetonka, tinyurl.com/willistontreehouse

Photo Courtesy of Interactive Playground

Tina Mortimer lives in White Bear Lake with her husband and two children. Follow her work at tinamortimer.contently.com